Council & Committees

Map of districts in New Brunswick.The New Brunswick College of Pharmacists is governed by a Council made up of a president, president-elect, past-president, elected representatives covering the province as well as representatives from schools of pharmacy and lay representatives, appointed by the Government of New Brunswick.

Role of a Councillor

Council’s primary role is to ensure that the interests of the public are protected and maintained.

Council is the oversight and policy-making group for the College. The College’s administrative staff are responsible for carrying out these policies and administering the Pharmacy Act and Regulations.

Council establishes committees required by the New Brunswick Pharmacy Act, 2014 and may also appoint standing and special committees. The following are the committees of the College:

Committees Responsibilities
Governance Monitor the functioning of Council, develop governance policies and ensure policies are followed.
Nominating Recruit pharmacy professionals for Council & committees
Finance Advise Council (budgets, internal controls, investments, staff compensation, etc.)

Meet with auditors to validate financial position of College

Registration Assess applications for membership and establish requirements that applicants must meet to be entered on a register
Continuous Professional Development Ensure that pharmacy professionals are registered to practice pharmacy, maintain and improve skills, and knowledge base

Annual audit of pharmacy professionals’ educational activities

Complaints Hear complaints submitted by public or pharmacy professionals
Discipline & Fitness to Practice Hear complaints forwarded by Complaints committee or Registrar
Professional Practice  Serves as an advisory committee to Council on matters relating to pharmacy practice and to the profession.

Council Executive

    President – Natalie Barry

    President-Elect – Bonnie White

    Past President – Adele Wallace

Pharmacist Council Members

    Tracie Blakney Paixao

    Lindsay Mell

    Gisia Pisegna

    Bradley Steeves

    Treena Sutherland

    Jessica Weagle

    Bonnie White

   Pharmacy Technician Council Members

    Cynthia Hood 

    Angela Martin Dallon

   Public Council Members

    Pablo Asirón

    Wendy Bulmer

    Susan Harley

Faculty of Pharmacy Representative

    Susan Mansour, Dalhousie University School of Pharmacy

Representing New Brunswick Externally

Canadian Council on Continuing Education in Pharmacy

    Anastasia Shiamptanis

National Association of Pharmacy Regulatory Authorities

    Anastasia Shiamptanis

Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada

    Heather LeBlanc 


Nomination Form – Election to Council [PDF]

Interested in participating in one of the committees? Let us know! [LINK]

The majority of positions on our committees are filled by pharmacists and pharmacy technicians, and many committees also require representation from the public (i.e., Lay Representatives).

↑ Back to top ↑